Skip to main content

Wayne State University

Founded in 1868, Wayne State University is one of the nation's pre-eminent public research universities in an urban setting, offering more than 370 academic programs through 13 schools and colleges. Its mission is to create knowledge and prepare a diverse body of students to excel in an increasingly complex and global society.


Wayne State University’s centers and institutes play an integral role in the university’s emphasis on encouraging innovative scholarship, providing service to society and strengthening its performance as a nationally recognized research university. WSU’s centers and institutes embrace the multidisciplinary nature of scholarship and research within the university, and expand university boundaries by fostering collaborations with government, industry and organizations to enhance economic growth and the quality of life locally, nationally and globally. Our centers and institutes vary greatly in size, focus and mission. Some promote a primarily research-focused agenda, while others focus on instruction and/or community service.